http://waitingtillmarriage.org/issue-10-human-nature/

Loved this article!

About Eva

OVER WINE by Wisława Szymborska He glanced, gave me extra charm and I took it as my own. Happily I gulped a star. I let myself be invented, modeled on my own reflection in his eyes. I dance, dance, dance in the stir of sudden wings. The chair's a chair, the wine is wine, in a wineglass that's the wineglass standing there by standing there. Only I'm imaginary, make-believe beyond belief; so fictitious that it hurts. And I tell him tales about ants that die of love beneath a dandelion's constellation. I swear a white rose will sing if you sprinkle it with wine. I laugh and I tilt my head cautiously, as if to check whether the invention works. I dance, dance inside my stunned skin, in his arms that create me. Eve from the rib, Venus from foam, Minerva from Jupiter's head- all three were more real than me. When he isn't looking at me, I try to catch my reflection on the wall. And see the nail where a picture used to be.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment